A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
Showing 21 results for Ingredients starting with letter A
Ingredient
Status
Adipic Acid
Halal
Name : Adipic Acid
E-Code : E355
Status : Halal
Description
A Component of fat, prepared either naturally from beet juice or synthetically.It's used in baking powders instead of tartar and phosphates because of it's hygroscopic property. Studies show that natural adipic acid is better for health in the long run.
Agar
Halal
Name : Agar
E-Code : E406
Status : Halal
Description
A seaweed derivative also known as agar-agar. It's a gelling agent used in the preparation of jello or jelly similar to the ones prepared from collagen which is an animal derivative. Islamically, agar is far better than collagen.It is typically sold as packaged strips of washed and dried seaweed, or in powdered form.
Alanine
Mushbooh
Name : Alanine
Status : Mushbooh
Description
A crystalline water-soluble non-essential amino acid. Any protein-containing food such as meat, poultry, fish, eggs or dairy products is rich in alanine.Some plants also contain alanine.It is important to determine the source of alanine.
Albumen
Halal
Name : Albumen
Status : Halal
Description
Egg white is the common name for albumen. It is often separated and used for cooking (for glairs, meringues, souffl?s, and some omelettes), whence it derives its name: when albumen is beaten or cooked it turns white.
Albumin
Halal
Name : Albumin
Status : Halal
Description
A water-soluble protein coagulated by heat, found in many animal and plant tissues, especially milk, egg white, and blood plasma.
Alcohol (alcohol beverages)
Haram
Name : Alcohol (alcohol beverages)
Status : Haram
Description
All sorts of alcohol are strictly not permissible for consumption in Islam whether it is alot (e.g. beverages) or a bit (present in food for flavourings).
Alpha Carotene (colouring)
Depends
Name : Alpha Carotene (colouring)
E-Code : E160a
Status : Depends
Description
Carotene itself is halal but Glycerince may be used as the carrier. If Halal carrier is used, it is Halal.
Ambergris
Halal
Name : Ambergris
Status : Halal
Description
It is a solid, waxy, flammable substance. Ambergris occurs as a biliary secretion of the intestines of the sperm whale, and can be found floating upon the sea, or in the sand near the coast. Procedures for the microbial production of ambrox have also been devised.Its been used for medicinal, flavoring purposes and important perfume odorant.
Amylose
Halal
Name : Amylose
Status : Halal
Description
It is one of the two components of starch, the other being amylopectin.Out of the two amylose is preferred for storage in plants.
Anatto Extracts
Halal
Name : Anatto Extracts
E-Code : E160b
Status : Halal
Description
Yellowish red dye made from the pulp enclosing the seeds of a small tropical tree, used to color fabric and food products.
Anchovies
Halal
Name : Anchovies
Status : Halal
Description
Small fish.They are a key ingredient in Caesar salad and Spaghetti alla Puttanesca, and are often used as a pizza topping. Because of the strong flavor they are also an ingredient in several sauces, including Worcestershire sauce and many fish sauces.
Animal Fat
Depends
Name : Animal Fat
Status : Depends
Description
Animal fats are fats obtained from animal sources, including:blubber, cod liver oil, lard (pork fat), tallow (beef fat), schmaltz(chicken fat).Lard is haram in any case.As for other sources of animal fat they must come from a zabihah animal.Fish oil is also halal.
Animal Shortening
Depends
Name : Animal Shortening
Status : Depends
Description
Shortening is a type of fat that is solid at room temperature, and is used for making many baked foods. Animal shortening, such as lard, must be avoided.Shortening from zabihah animal is halal
Animal Tissue Extract
Haram
Name : Animal Tissue Extract
Status : Haram
Description
We must consider it haram if no indication or label specifying it from a halal source (zabihah animal, fish)
Antioxidants
Halal
Name : Antioxidants
Status : Halal
Description
Chemical compounds used to protect certain food components from being destroyed or lost through oxidation.
Artificial colour
Depends
Name : Artificial colour
Status : Depends
Description
It Adds colour to the food product.In its dry powder or granular form it is halal.However liquid colours have vegetable oil or glycerin added.Glycerin of plant source is halal.Some natural food colours are as follows: Caramel coloring is found in Coca-Cola and other cola products. It is made from caramelized sugar. Annatto is a reddish-orange dye made from the seed of a tropical tree. Chlorella is green, and derived from algae. Cochineal is a red dye derived from cochineal insects.
Artificial Flavors
Depends
Name : Artificial Flavors
Status : Depends
Description
Artificial Flavors are usually made from chemical and synthetic raw material. For Halal artificial flavor the synthetic raw material has to be Halal and solvent should not be alcohol.Artificial flavours made from haram raw material(e.g alcohol used as a solvent) is haram.
Ascorbic acid
Halal
Name : Ascorbic acid
E-Code : E300
Status : Halal
Description
Also known as Vitamin C, Ascorbic acid is a stabilizer and a colour preservative.Commercially its main source is chemical, synthetic and mineral.Naturally it is found in orange, lemon, grapefruit, lime, billy goat plum, camu camu.
Aspartame
Halal
Name : Aspartame
E-Code : E951
Status : Halal
Description
This sweetener is marketed under a number of trademark names, such as Equal, NutraSweet, and Canderel, and is an ingredient of approximately 6, 000 consumer foods and beverages sold worldwide. It is commonly used in diet soft drinks, and is often provided as a table condiment.
Aspartic Acid
Mushbooh
Name : Aspartic Acid
Status : Mushbooh
Description
DL & L Forms; As its name indicates, aspartic acid is the carboxylic acid analog of asparagine.Please consult the manufacturer for details.Until proven otherwise the ingrediant is mushbooh.
Aspic Savoury
Depends
Name : Aspic Savoury
Status : Depends
Description
savoury clear jelly prepared from a liquid stock made by simmering the bones of beef, veal, chicken, or fish. The aspic congeals when refrigerated by virtue of the natural gelatin that dissolves into the stock from the tendons; commercial sheet or powdered gelatin is sometimes added to ensure a stiff set. Aspic is used to coat and glaze foods such as cold meats and fish.Doubt arises where the jelly is prepared from the stock obtained from non-zabihah animal.