A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
Showing 15 results for Ingredients starting with letter B
Ingredient
Status
Benzoate, Benzoic, Benzoate of soda
Halal
Name : Benzoate, Benzoic, Benzoate of soda
Status : Halal
Description
Benzoic acid and sodium benzoate are used as food preservatives.
BHA Butylated hydroxyanisole
Halal
Name : BHA Butylated hydroxyanisole
E-Code : E320
Status : Halal
Description
Chemical preservative and an antioxidant
BHT Butylated hydroxyanisole
Halal
Name : BHT Butylated hydroxyanisole
E-Code : E321
Status : Halal
Description
Chemical preservative and an antioxidant. Halal if the carrier is halal
Biotin Vitamin H; Vitamin B Factor
Halal
Name : Biotin Vitamin H; Vitamin B Factor
Status : Halal
Description
A vitamin in the B complex mainly found in egg yolk, cereals, liver, and milk and is used by the body in metabolizing fat and carbohydrates. It's Deficiency can lead to dermatitis, loss of appetite, hair loss, and anemia.
Bleaching Agents
Halal
Name : Bleaching Agents
Status : Halal
Description
Chemicals which through oxidation, result in whitening of various products. Most brands of flour we use today are bleached, hence the exceptionally white appearance. Nutritionally, it is better to use brown flour. This also applies to bread.
Bran
Halal
Name : Bran
Status : Halal
Description
A substance that forms the outer layers of grain obtained as a by-product of wet milling. Bran contains rich amount of cellulose and fibre. Important to health, it increases peristaltic movement, improves defecation and reduces cancer of the colon.
Butter
Halal
Name : Butter
Status : Halal
Description
Solidified milk fat, especially cow's milk, used principally as a food item. Pure butter is suitable for vegetarians.
Butyric Acid
Halal
Name : Butyric Acid
Status : Halal
Description
A short chain fatty acid found in milk.
Bacon
Haram
Name : Bacon
Status : Haram
Description
A side of pig meat (pork).
Beer
Haram
Name : Beer
Status : Haram
Description
It is an alcoholic beverage not permissible in islam whether in small quantities or large.
Beta Carotene
Depends
Name : Beta Carotene
E-Code : E160
Status : Depends
Description
Provitamin A; Halal status depends on the carrier. Pork gelatin may be used as a carrier, in which case it becomes haram.
Bile Salts
Depends
Name : Bile Salts
Status : Depends
Description
Bile is the yellowish brown or green liquid secreted by the liver. Food industry uses bile salts whenever there is fat to be emulsified so that it can be easily digested and hydrolysed. Since the origin of bile salts is animal, one must, therefore, find out the type of animal used. If the source is pork, then, definitely, it becomes Haram.
Biscuits
Depends
Name : Biscuits
Status : Depends
Description
Quite likely to contain animal fats unless stated otherwise (i.e. indicating suitable for vegetarians).
Bone
Depends
Name : Bone
Status : Depends
Description
Used in bone china and cutlery handles. Depends if it's from a specified Halal animal source, haram otherwise.
Breakfast cereals
Depends
Name : Breakfast cereals
Status : Depends
Description
Can contain haram ingredients unless stated otherwise (i.e. sign indicating suitable for vegetarians).