A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
Showing 28 results for Ingredients starting with letter C
Ingredient
Status
Calcium carrageenan
Halal
Name : Calcium carrageenan
Status : Halal
Description
Thickener, gelling agent, improves mouth feel. Found in AquaFresh tooth paste.
Calcium cyclamate
Halal
Name : Calcium cyclamate
E-Code : E952
Status : Halal
Description
An artificially prepared salt of cyclamic acid, formerly used as a nonnutritive low-calorie sweetener but now banned because of possible carcinogenic effects of its metabolic products.
Calcium disodium EDTA
Halal
Name : Calcium disodium EDTA
Status : Halal
Description
It's used in industrial cleaning, detergents, in textile industry as a bleach stabilizer and added in food as a preservative.
Calcium saccharin
Halal
Name : Calcium saccharin
E-Code : E954
Status : Halal
Description
artificial sweetening substance
Calcium/Sodium Caseinate
Halal
Name : Calcium/Sodium Caseinate
Status : Halal
Description
Casein mixed with a metal, like calcium caseinate or sodium caseinate. They are used as sources of protein for nutrition.
Carrageenan
Halal
Name : Carrageenan
E-Code : E407
Status : Halal
Description
A complex carbohydrate obtained from edible red seaweeds, used in the commercial preparation of several kinds of food and drink;Also present in several brands of tooth paste. Acts as a Gelling agent, emulsifier, thickener, stabilizer and suspending agent.
Casein
Halal
Name : Casein
Status : Halal
Description
This is a product made when milk is heated with an acid, like lactic acid. Caseins are used as food colors, where they make a nice opaque white color, which can then be tinted with other colors as required.
Caviar
Halal
Name : Caviar
Status : Halal
Description
Fish eggs. The fish must be killed to obtain the eggs.
Cellulose gum
Halal
Name : Cellulose gum
Status : Halal
Description
Stabilizer and thickeners.
Chitin
Halal
Name : Chitin
Status : Halal
Description
chitin, main constituent of the shells of arthropods(e.g. shrimp, crab). It is a polysaccharide analogous in chemical structure to cellulose.
Chocolate Liquor
Halal
Name : Chocolate Liquor
Status : Halal
Description
Also known as cocoa liquor and cocoa mass, is a smooth liquid form of chocolate made from cocoa beans. It is used in making candy, drinks and chocolate flavoured foods. It does not contain alcohol. (???)
Citric acid
Halal
Name : Citric acid
E-Code : E330
Status : Halal
Description
Citric acid is a weak organic acid found in citrus fruits like lemon, lime and oranges. It is a natural preservative and is also used to add an acidic (sour) taste to foods and soft drinks.
CMC (Carboxymethyl cellulose)
Halal
Name : CMC (Carboxymethyl cellulose)
E-Code : E466
Status : Halal
Description
Methylcellulose is used as a thickener in sauces and salad dressings, and as a thickener and stabilizer in ice cream, where it helps prevent ice crystals from forming during freezing or re-freezing after a thaw.
Cobalamine
Halal
Name : Cobalamine
Status : Halal
Description
Synthetically prepared Vitamin B12.
Cocoa Butter
Halal
Name : Cocoa Butter
Status : Halal
Description
It is the edible natural fat of the cacao bean, extracted during the process of making chocolate and cocoa powder and used in candies and confections. The smooth texture and sweet fragrance of cocoa butter makes it a popular ingredient in cosmetics and skin care products, such as soaps and lotions.
Corn starch
Halal
Name : Corn starch
Status : Halal
Description
It is added to processed meats (lunch meats, hot dogs, sausages, etc.) as a filler, binder, moisture retainer, and fat substitute. They are added to soups, sauces and gravies as thickeners. They are used in extruded cereals and snacks to hold the shape of the material.
Cream of Tartar
Halal
Name : Cream of Tartar
Status : Halal
Description
It is used commercially in some soft drinks, candies, bakery products, gelatin desserts, and photography products. Cream of tartar can also be used to clean brass and copper cookware.Watch out for alcohol-based source.
Cyclamic acid
Halal
Name : Cyclamic acid
E-Code : E952
Status : Halal
Description
An artificial sweetening substance often used synergistically with other artificial sweeteners, especially saccharin; the mixture of 10 parts cyclamate to 1 part saccharin is common and masks the off-tastes of both sweeteners.
Capsules
Haram
Name : Capsules
Status : Haram
Description
Usually made from gelatine, however vegetarian alternatives are also available in pharmacies which are halal.
Cholesterol
Haram
Name : Cholesterol
Status : Haram
Description
A type of fat always of animal origin. If extracted from a dhabiha animal, it is halal.
Cochineal
Haram
Name : Cochineal
E-Code : E120
Status : Haram
Description
Colourant, made from crushed insects.Imparts deep red shade to fruit juices, gelatins, candies(e.g. red smarties), shampoos.Natural carmine dye used in food and cosmetics is unacceptable for Muslims because the dye is extracted from insects.
Calcium stearoyl lactylate
Depends
Name : Calcium stearoyl lactylate
E-Code : E482
Status : Depends
Description
Similar to E481 but with calcium as the added mineral instead of sodium.
Cheese
Depends
Name : Cheese
Status : Depends
Description
Likely to have been produced using animal rennet. Halal if vegetarian rennet is used (either microbial or synthetic). When buying please look for a sign indicating suitable for vegetarians.
Chelate (Chelation)
Depends
Name : Chelate (Chelation)
Status : Depends
Description
A complex chemical compound formed through the process of chelation. Its source could either be of plants or animals.
Chewing gum
Depends
Name : Chewing gum
Status : Depends
Description
Five basic ingredients: gum base, sugar or another sweetener, corn syrup, softener, and flavorings. Sugar sweetens the gum, corn syrup makes it fresh and flexible, and vegetable oil keeps the ingredients blended by retaining moisture. Often contains glycerine. Wrigleys use a vegetable glycerine.
Chips
Depends
Name : Chips
Status : Depends
Description
Depending upon the flavours added(e.g. beef tallow is haram) and the oil (e.g. vegetable oil is halal, animal fat is haram) used in frying.
Chocolate
Depends
Name : Chocolate
Status : Depends
Description
Whey and emulsifiers in chocolates affect their credibility as halal.Please read the chocolate wrapper for ingredients and watch out for Whey and certain emulsifiers as they are haram.
Crisps
Depends
Name : Crisps
Status : Depends
Description
Often use whey as a flavour carrier, ready salted are the only clearly vegetarian flavour, though some beef crisps are flavoured with yeast extract and are therefore suitable.Always read the packaging to confirm the presence of halal ingredients.