A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
Showing 13 results for Ingredients starting with letter L
Ingredient
Status
Lactitol
Halal
Name : Lactitol
E-Code : E966
Status : Halal
Description
Lactilol is a disaccharide analogue of lactulose. Its pharmaceutical use is in the treatment of constipation and hepatic encephalopathy. Lactilol is also used in Japan as a prebiotic and in Europe as a food sweetener.
Lactose
Halal
Name : Lactose
Status : Halal
Description
The main sugar present in milk. Upon hydrolysis, yields glucose and galactose. Produced from milk, sometimes as a by product of the cheese making process.
Lactostearia
Halal
Name : Lactostearia
Status : Halal
Description
Emulsifier, inhibits spoilage, flavouring agent
Lactylate
Halal
Name : Lactylate
Status : Halal
Description
Inhibits spoilage, flavouring agent
Lanolin
Halal
Name : Lanolin
Status : Halal
Description
Also known as wool fat or wool wax, it is used as an ointment base in pharmaceutics and cosmetics. Lanolin is often used as a raw material for producing vitamin D3.
Lysine
Halal
Name : Lysine
Status : Halal
Description
Lysine is the limiting amino acid in all cereal grains, but is plentiful in all pulses (legumes). Fish are also quite rich in lysine.It is used to enrich flour and bread.
L-Cysteine monohydrochloride
Haram
Name : L-Cysteine monohydrochloride
E-Code : E920
Status : Haram
Description
Derived from proteins, including animal protein and hair. It is a flour treatment agent that can be extracted from duck and chicken feather.
Lard
Haram
Name : Lard
Status : Haram
Description
Fat from swine particulaly found in the abdominal cavity.Absolutely Haram for us.
L-Cysteine
Depends
Name : L-Cysteine
E-Code : E910
Status : Depends
Description
L-Cysteine was available from hydrolisis of molecules in human hair.Other sources included pig bristles and feathers which are clearly haram until 2001 when a German company introduced a production route via fermentation (non-human, non-animal origin) which is halal.
Lactic Acid
Depends
Name : Lactic Acid
E-Code : E270
Status : Depends
Description
A bitter-tasting acid that forms when certain bacteria combine with lactose (milk sugar). Lactic acid is used to impart a tart flavor, as well as in the preservation of some foods. It occurs naturally in the souring of milk and can be found in foods such as cheese and yogurt. It's also used in the production of acid-fermented foods such as pickles and sauerkraut. Muslims should be aware that as it is a naturally occurring animal product, it could conceivably be of animal origin.
Lecithin
Depends
Name : Lecithin
E-Code : E322
Status : Depends
Description
Halal if it is from soy fat or egg yolk; haram if it is from animal fat.In bread and bakery products it increases volume and also acts as an anti-staling agent.Only the producer can provide details of origin.
Lipases
Depends
Name : Lipases
E-Code : E1104
Status : Depends
Description
It is a flavour enchancer, an enzyme produced by the liver, pancreas, or stomach, or by plant seeds, that breaks down fats. Lipase derived from pigs or cattle are Haram. Lipase from cattle slaughtered according to Islamic requirements or lipase produced by micro-organisms is Halal. Bacterial lipase is also Halal.
Lipids
Depends
Name : Lipids
Status : Depends
Description
Lipids are essential fatty acids found in fish, plant and animals. If source is animal it is haram unless the cattle is slaughtered according to Islamic requirements.Fish and plant sources are halal.