A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
Showing 4 results for Ingredients starting with letter R
Ingredient
Status
Riboflavin
Halal
Name : Riboflavin
E-Code : E101
Status : Halal
Description
It is also known as vitamin B2 or vitamin G Riboflavin is yellow or orange-yellow in colour and in addition to being used as a food colouring it is also used to fortify some foods. It can be found in baby foods, breakfast cereals, sauces, processed cheese, fruit drinks and vitamin-enriched milk products as well as being widely used in vitamin supplements. Usually the source is synthetic.
Roe
Halal
Name : Roe
Status : Halal
Description
Roe is the fully ripe egg masses of fish and certain marine animals, such as sea urchins, shrimp and scallop. As a seafood it is used both as a cooked ingredient in many dishes and as a raw ingredient.
Rennet or Rennin
Haram
Name : Rennet or Rennin
Status : Haram
Description
The common source of animal-based rennet is the abomasum (fourth stomach) of slaughtered, milk-fed, newborn cow calves/goats/lamb etc and is thus haram. Rennet is commonly used in the making of cheese and junket. Recently however halal options are also available sourced from fig tree bark, nettles, thistles, mallow. Commercial so-called vegetable rennets usually contain rennet from the mold Mucor miehei.Thus, Unless stated otherwise, consider it haram.
Rum
Haram
Name : Rum
Status : Haram
Description
Rum is a distilled beverage made from sugarcane by-products such as molasses and sugarcane juice. Rum may also be used in a number of cooked dishes. It may be used as a flavoring agent in items such as rum balls or rum cakes. Rum is commonly used to macerate fruit used in fruitcakes and is also used in marinades for some Caribbean dishes.